The fact Golden Teacher share the name of a certain type of magic mushroom may go someway to explaining their raucous blend of disco, psych, post-punk, Afrobeat and numerous other genres of music. Hailing from Glasgow and with releases on the well respected Optimo Music label, the band have a firm DIY ethic born out of the city’s fertile music scene, often creating the artwork for the limited presses of records that showcase the band’s work. That the band are creating some of the most original sounds around hasn’t escaped the attention of those outside of Glasgow and the band were included on the incredibly curated Art + Sound LP that was released by one of our favourite London record shops – Sounds Of The Universe.

Taken from the band’s second EP, ‘Like A Hawk’ is described by the band as a “Fourth World freakout” and contains a slew of analogue synth-work over sparse dubbed-out dancehall drum rhythms that meander with the echoed chants of the band’s vocalists – Cassie Ojay and Charles Lavenac. This is spiritual dance music from the 22nd Century – welcome to the future.

Strong Dub

Label: Secret Mixes Fixes

Release: FIX17

Long standing edit label Secret Mixes Fixes latest release is one to watch out for. The white label enterprise have been releasing DJ friendly cuts since 2003 and is run by the mysterious Ronaldo Mystique. Since its inception S.M.F have released numerous white labels with Gay Marvine, who now runs S.M.F’s sub label Bath House Etiquette ( a how to guide on gay discos ).

Vol.17 features four choice edits from The Fantasy with our favourites on the A side. A1 is an edit of Caroline Crawford’s ‘Coming on Strong’.  ‘Strong Dub’ is a deep builder, perfect for that peak time rush. While A2 ‘Jerked Out’ is pure purple funkiness that will get everyone grooving to this rework of The Time’s classic ‘Jerk Out’.



Label: Tartlet Records

Release: TART034

IMYRMIND’s first release with Tartelet records boasts four brilliant tracks, ranging from a crunchy techno roller, ‘Tong Po’ through to dusty jazz infused grooves on the rest of the EP.

The sound of upright bass, turntable cuts and playful piano give these tracks a brilliant live feel, suitable for home listening as well as peak time action.

The B side, featured track ‘Upturn’ sells itself with infectious latin percussion, coupled with a gripping horn and piano section that are sure to get the dance floor swinging. ‘Number 7’ finishes off the EP with style- eerie tape delayed and detuned rhodes are accompanied by some very fun drum programming which maintains the skippy broken jazz groove. Overall a really nice release- worth getting your hands on.


Label: Room Service

Release: ROOM03

The Organ Grinder aka Cayne Ramos has produced some absolute bangers in his ‘grotto’ in Wales. Released via the Room Service imprint, this EP features some great dance floor tracks, however the stand out one for us has to be “Voodoo.”
A bit of a heads down late night banger, this one features jarring chords and high energy drums and a haunting vocal chop that although doubtful, sounds like it could have come from drum and bass legend DJ Zinc’s “Reach Out.” It has that strange, but familiar nature that draws one in, especially when under the influence…


Label: Lumberjacks In Hell

Release: LiH016

Repress alert!!!! Get your hands on this before it flies off the shelves for a second time. Seriously though you should get this compilation!! It’s very rare that a compilation has strong tracks throughout. But hand on our hearts every track on here is killer.

From Hell With Love’s heavily disco focused edits are perfect for turning a party on its head. Your guaranteed  to get those stragglers on the fringes well into the mix.

Featuring 8 tracks from some of the finest and up and coming producers around, label head Marcel Vogel’s ‘Come on’ is one of the stand out tracks if you could say that any stand out from the others.

Our personal favourite is “To The Love’ by Dan Shake who is taking the underground world by storm right now with his own imprint Shake’s releases selling out in a matter of days, represses included!





The fourth instalment in our mix series. Warming up for our first party of the year with a few jams that we’ve been digging recently. Be sure to come down to the Yard Theatre on the 5th of Feb and join us for an evening of fun!!
BLBC @ The Yard

Track List:
1 – Long Island Wildin’ – De La Soul
2 – Stars For Jorge – Len Leise
3 – Angola – JM Edit
4 – Cigrik (FOC Rework) – Mogollar
5 – Algier Ego – Luvless
6 – Party Train – Funkyjaws
7 – Rießenglied 95 (Fuer Nano) – Axel S
8 – 78 To Stanley Bay – Chaos In The CBD
9 – Star Strike – Soundstream
10 – To The Love – Dan Shake
11 – Tricks On Wax – Ben Sun
12 – Coco Kane (Frasier Edit) – El Coco

Label: Banoffee Pies

Release: BPWS001

The first in Bannoffee Pies new “World” Series endeavor is pure fire- The A side is an instant attention grabber that does have some legs in terms of repeat listening. The African Disco edit brought to us by Philou Louzolo, “Afrofuturism Dance” is driven by playful drums and an intertwined organ that give the track instant ‘likeability’ for whoever is lucky enough to be on the dancefloor. All of the tracks on the EP have something special about them, which is oddly rare for a record, but when it does happen, sets it above the rest.

Though Wendel Sield’s addition to the record, “History of Black Music”  is also worthy of mention, we have decided to feature the first B side track by Mehment Aslam/ MMT*-Ton-a-ton (Cilli Bom). Super percussion and a deep centred kick put it well in the big room bracket- even if just as a novelty. A haunting and hypnotic flute leads us up to a fantastic vocal sample, which is the icing on the cake. Lale Belkis’ vocal is as sexy as it hypnotising and it is good thing to have a club ready version of Cilli Bom on hard wax.

All of the tracks on the release have a great DJ Tool quality to them, and as it was limited to 500 pressings; hand stamped, hand numbered, one per customer… la la la- it’s perhaps worth tracking down a copy just for that golden moment.

Mastered by: Ten Eight Seven

Pressed by: Disc Solutions

Ge-Ology Featuring Mark De Clive-Lowe – Moon Circuitry

Sound Signature

Release: SS058

Ge-Ology knocks it out the park with this one on the renowned Sound Signature Label. Both sides of the 12” feature similar space-like future funk/ jazz jams, laden with UK keyboard wizard Mark De Clive-Lowe’s playful modulated synth lines.

The flip features a few more natural sounds, with beautiful piano and strings contrasted against toned down aphex twin-esq programming. A record with great strength which pushes boundaries into outer space.

Having formed a part of Fela’s Egypt 80 and the Positive Force band alongside Femi Kuti, Dele Sosimi is up there with the Afrobeat legends. Dele is still very much spearheading the sound, playing often in his hometown of London and abroad backed by his fearsome 15-piece Afrobeat orchestra.

Dele recently released his album ‘You No Fit Touch’ on Wah Wah 45s. The label have now turned it over for the remix treatment and are set to release a package including re-workings by Tru Thoughts‘ Titeknots, Modified Man and Balearic maestro and a producer we just can’t get enough of, Ptaki. For now, here’s a take by Wolf Music‘s very own Medlar and courtesy of the very excellent Stamp The Wax. Absolutely itching to play this one out.

Itching and magnificent stuff from Romare, the Ninja Tune artist. This one’s a sly builder and a great example of a track where great building blocks (sharp cymbals, muffled kick, ghostly vocals) are assembled with enough space so they let each and every other element breathe. Romare’s phrases are blocky enough to create the big builds and drops underpinned by padwork and reverb, but again, all the elements in the track link up nicely to deliver one big hitting number. It’s in the bag for tonight.

Romare’s YouTube Channel